Imam Sayyid Alusi on the extremists of his time


Grand Mufti of Baghdad Imam Sayyid Shihab al-Din Alusi writes in his tafsir Ruh al-Ma’ani under the following verse

{ قُلْ مَا كُنتُ بِدْعاً مِّنَ ٱلرُّسُلِ وَمَآ أَدْرِي مَا يُفْعَلُ بِي وَلاَ بِكُمْ إِنْ أَتَّبِعُ إِلاَّ مَا يُوحَىٰ إِلَيَّ وَمَآ أَنَاْ إِلاَّ نَذِيرٌ مُّبِينٌ }

وفي الآية رد على من ينسب لبعض الأولياء علم كل شيء من الكليات والجزئيات، وقد سمعت خطيباً على منبر المسجد الجامع المنسوب للشيخ عبد القادر الكيلاني قدس سره يوم الجمعة قال بأعلى صوت: يا باز أنت أعلم بـي من نفسي، وقال لي بعض: إني لأعتقد أن الشيخ قدس سرّه يعلم كل شيء مني حتى منابت شعري، ومثل ذلك مما لا ينبغي أن ينسب إلى رسول الله صلى الله عليه وسلم فكيف ينسب إلى من سواه؟ فليتق العبد مولاه.

“Say, ―I am not something unprecedented among the messengers, and I do not know what will be done to me or to you. I do not follow anything but what is revealed to me, and I am only a clear Warner.”

The verse rejects those who attribute to the awliya knowledge of every whole (kulliyat) and part (juzziyat). I heard an orator on the pulpit of Grand Mosque dedicated to Shaykh ‘Abd al-Qadir Jaylani, may Allah sanctify his secret, on the day of Jumu’ah saying in loudest of his voice: “O Shaykh! You know me better than I known myself”, while another one said to me: “I believe that Shaykh, may Allah sanctify his secret, knows every thing even the root of my hair.” There are so many such things which are not proper even to be attributed to the Messenger of Allah, Allah bless him and give him peace, let alone attributing them to people other than him. So, the slave should fear his Master.”

Leave a Reply

