Regarding the shadow of the Messenger (Allah bless him and give him peace)


Few proofs that the Holy Prophet (Allah bless him and give him peace) had a shadow.

[1] Imam Hakim Abu ‘Abdullah Muhammad bin Abdullah al-Hafiz (d. 405 AH) narrates that Sayyidna Anas bin Malik (may Allah be pleased with him) stated: “one night the Prophet (Allah bless him and give him peace) was praying. All of a sudden he stretched his hand and then withdrew it. We asked him: O Messenger of Allah! We saw you doing an act in salah which you did not do in past. He said: yes, Jannah was presented before me and I saw therein lofty trees the fruits of which was close at hand. So, I wanted to pick up something from it. I was asked through revelation to retreat, so I retreated. Then, Jahannam was presented before me which was between me and you, even I saw my and your shadow in its light. So, I signaled to you to move back‎, so I was asked through revelation: let they be in the same condition; since you accepted Islam and they also, you migrated and they too, you fought in the way of Allah and they as well, so I do not see any superiority in you except prophethood. So, I concluded that my Ummah will face trials (fitnas) after me.” (Mustadrak, 4:456, Al-Hakim and Al-Dhahabi said: this hadith is sahih)

Imam al-Hakim and ‘Allamah Shams al-Din Abu ‘Abdullah al-Dhahabi (d. 751 AH), the famous scholar of Hadith principles, are of the opinion that the hadith is sahih. Hafiz ibn al-Qayyim al-Hanbali (d. 751 AH) also narrated the hadith. Ssee Hadi al-Afrah ila Bilad al-Arwah, p 16, Egypt) This sahih hadith suggests that the Prophet (Allah bless him and give him peace) had shadow as the Companions (may Allah be pleased with them) had. This was the reason that he saw his shadow and the shadow of the Companions in the light of the flames. Had he not had shadow, this would not have any meaning, as this is not hidden from any sensible and wise person.

[2] Sayyidah ‘Aishah (may Allah be pleased with her) states that the Prophet (Allah bless him and give him peace) was traveling with some of his wives. The camel of Sayyidah Safiya (may Allah be pleased with her) fell sick. Sayyidah Zaynab (may Allah be pleased with her) had an extra camel. He said to Zaynab: it is better if you give your extra camel to Safiya as her camel is sick. She replied: why should I give my camel to this yahudiah (Jewish woman)?  The improper reply angered the Prophet (Allah bless him and give him peace) and he abandoned going to her room for two three months. “She said: until I was disappointed and shifted my bed from there, while one noontime I suddenly saw the shadow of Allah’s Messenger (Allah bless him and give him peace) coming to me.” (Tabqat bin Sa’d, 8:126, Beirut)

(Nur wa Bashar, ‘Allamah Sarfaraz Khan Safdar)

Leave a Reply

