Pir Karam Shah and Mukhtare Kull


Pir Karam Shah, an influental Barelwi scholar mentions in his tafsir Ziya’ al-Qur’an some issues that go against the mainstream, extremist Barelwi aqida. The relevant quotes were mentioned by the monthly magazine Bayyinat published in October 2006 by Jamia Binnoria Town: http://www.banuri.edu.pk/ur/node/406

میں یہ نہیں کہتا کہ اللہ تعالیٰ کی قدرت کے سارے خزانے میرے قبضہ میں ہیں‘ خود بخود جیسے چاہوں ان میں تصرف کروں یا مجھے غیب کا خود بخود علم ہوجاتاہے اور بغیر اللہ کے بتلائے اور سکھلائے میں ہرغیب کو جانتا ہوں‘ میرا یہ دعویٰ نہیں میر اگر کوئی دعویٰ ہے تو فقط یہ کہ: ”ان اتبع الا ما یوحی الیّ“جو کچھ میری طرف وحی کیا جاتاہے میں اس کی پیروی کرتا ہوں قول اور فعل میں‘ علم اور عمل میں“۔ (ضیاء القرآن ص:۵۵۸ ج‘۱)

“I do not say that I possess all the treasures of the power of Allah, that I can distribute (tasarruf) it on my own, or that I know the ghayb through my own, and without telling and instructing of Allah, I know every ghayb…”

Pir Karam quotes under the same verse of 6:50 Ruh al-Ma’ani, but does not fully quote Alusi, when he gives examples of how the Prophet (sallallahu alayhi wa sallam) can not distribute things on his own. The part highlighted in red was not quoted by Pir Karam shah:

 والمعنى لا أدعي أن هاتيك الخزائن مفوضة إليَّ أتصرف فيها كيفما أشاء استقلالاً أو استدعاء حتى تقترحوا عليَّ تنزيل الآيات أو إنزال العذاب أو قلب الجبال ذهباً أو غير ذلك مما لا يليق بشأني

While Pir Karam Shah highlighted the first part only, with emphasis on istiqlal (independently) and istid’a (desire). The full quote of Alusi is:

“The meaning is that I do not claim that these treasures are entrusted to me while I dispose in them however I wish, independently and on demand, such that you can request from me to reveal signs or bring down punishment or change mountains to gold or other than that of which is not fitting my station.”

So according to Alusi, the Prophet (sallallahu alayhi wa sallam) can  not 1. show signs himself, 2. nor bring down punishment if he wants, 3. nor turn mountains into gold.

Leave a Reply

